Grim Fandango on the Mac

General chat related to ScummVM, adventure gaming, and so on.

Moderator: ScummVM Team

woodsyallen

Grim Fandango on the Mac

Post by woodsyallen »

Hi Everyone,

So I've been trying for a while to get this thing up and running and today just found out about ResidualVM. I've used scummvm in the past and if this is in the same vein im super excited.

im just curious though... what the heck do I do to get this up and running? I'm a bit of a newb when it comes to coding and such so ive never actually compiled something before...

so if anyone could give me like an easy step by step way to get this all set and ready to play grim that'd be AMAZinG!
ezekiel000

Post by ezekiel000 »

If you have OSX the download is here:
http://www.residualvm.org/downloads/
(If not I don't know I run Linux)

Setting up residual this might help:
https://sourceforge.net/apps/mediawiki/ ... ation_File
woodsyallen

Post by woodsyallen »

trying to go to the second link asks for a username and password...
ezekiel000

Post by ezekiel000 »

It seems you need a Sourceforge account to see the wiki I didn't realise that.

Here's the bit the might help:
ResidualVM Configuration File

By default, the configuration file is saved in, and loaded from:
* Mac OS X:
~/Library/Preferences/ResidualVM Preferences

An example config file looks as follows:

[residual]

[grim]
path=[path to all the .lab files]
woodsyallen

Post by woodsyallen »

cool. so do i have to put my own info into the config file? cause right now its blank...
ezekiel000

Post by ezekiel000 »

Yes you have to enter the info that is in the example above, and then I when you run residual the first time it will add all the rest of the settings to the file (I think, it's been a while since I did this).
Longcat

Post by Longcat »

Just to be clear, ResidualVM is FAR from finished, still has A LOT of bugs, will not allow you to save/load your game or even finish playing. Yet, that is.
MeddlingMonk